« All Events

Astronomy Events

June 2019

The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sat, Jun 8 • 8 pm

Moon Madness: Exploring the Moon

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Fri, Jun 21 • 6 pm

Summer Solstice Sunset

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473

July 2019

The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sat, Jul 13 • 8 pm

How to Set Up Your Telescope

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480

August 2019

The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sat, Aug 24 • 7:30 pm

Ancient Mayan Astronomy

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480

September 2019

The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sat, Sep 14 • 7 pm

Night Sky Programs-Light Pollution-Losing the night sky.

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
a large bonfire
Special Event Sat, Sep 28 • 2 pm

Party for the Preserves

Deer Grove-East • Cook County, IL 60074 (near Palatine)

October 2019

The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sat, Oct 12 • 7 pm

Night Sky Programs-Constellation Mythology

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
a marshmallow roasting over a campfire
Fri, Oct 18 • 5 pm

Stars, Stories and S’mores

Erickson Woods • Cook County, IL 60093 (near Winnetka)
a marshmallow roasting over a campfire
Fri, Oct 18 • 5:30 pm

Stars, Stories and S’mores

Camp Shabbona Woods • South Holland, IL 60473
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sat, Oct 19 • 7 pm

The Sky’s the Limit

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010

November 2019

a marshmallow roasting over a campfire
Fri, Nov 1 • 5 pm

Stars, Stories and S’mores

Thatcher Woods • River Forest, IL 60305
a marshmallow roasting over a campfire
Fri, Nov 8 • 5 pm

Stars, Stories and S’mores

Dan Ryan Woods Visitor Center • Chicago, IL 60620
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Special Event Mon, Nov 11 • 8 am

The Transit of Mercury

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
a marshmallow roasting over a campfire
Fri, Nov 15 • 5 pm

Stars, Stories and S’mores

Caldwell Woods • Chicago, IL 60646
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sat, Nov 23 • 7:30 pm

Starry, Starry Night

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480

December 2019

Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sat, Dec 21 • 1 pm

Winter Solstice

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010

January 2020

Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sat, Jan 25 • 7 pm

Stars & S’mores

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
+ Export Events