« All Events

Bird The Preserves Events

The #BirdThePreserves initiative launched in 2016 to promote the Forest Preserves as a world-class destination for birding—and to expose new audiences to this popular activity. Learn more about #BirdThePreserves.

October 2020

Thu, Oct 29 • 3 pm

Owl Crafternoon

Dan Ryan Woods Visitor Center • Chicago, IL 60620

November 2020

Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Nov 1 • 9 am

Waterfowl Watch

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
River Trail Nature Center Building in Northbrook
Sun, Nov 1 • 10 am

Bird Feeder Basics

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
two red-headed woodpeckers in a dead tree at Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center. Photo by Joe Occhiuzzo.
Thu, Nov 5 • 10 am

Red-headed Woodpecker Story Time

Dan Ryan Woods Visitor Center • Chicago, IL 60620
American kestral
Thu, Nov 5 • 2 pm

This Old Bird House

Facebook Live from River Trail Nature Center
red-bellied woodpecker at a feeder at Trailside Museum
Sat, Nov 7 • 10 am

Nature for Little Ones: Birds at the Feeder

Facebook Live from Sand Ridge Nature Center
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Nov 8 • 1:30 pm

Meet our Birds

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
#BirdThePreserves logo
Thu, Nov 12 • 8 am

Bird Walk

Orland Grassland • Cook County, IL 60467 (near Orland Park)
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Nov 14 • 10 am

Turkey Talk

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Sun, Nov 15 • 11 am

D.I.Y Suet Feeders

Facebook Live from Little Red Schoolhouse
A Forest Preserves staff member holding River Trail Nature Center's ambassador barred owl
Tue, Nov 17 • 2 pm

Nocturnal Hunters: Owls

Facebook Live from River Trail Nature Center
Wed, Nov 18 • 10:30 am

Mother Nature & Me: Bald Eagles

Zoom Presentation
#BirdThePreserves logo
Thu, Nov 19 • 9 am

Bird Walk

Eggers Grove • Chicago, IL 60617
a great horned owl in a tree at Crabtree Nature Center
Fri, Nov 20 • 7 pm

Owl Prowl

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
River Trail Nature Center Building in Northbrook
Sun, Nov 22 • 10 am

Bird Feeder Basics

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
two bluebirds on a nesting box at horizon farm
Tue, Nov 24 • 1 pm

Ask a Bird Nerd

Facebook Live from Sand Ridge Nature Center
A sandhill crane in a wetland at Crabtree Nature Center.
Sat, Nov 28 • 1:30 pm

Sand Hill Crane Migration Walk

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
+ Export Events