« All Events

Bird The Preserves Events

The #BirdThePreserves initiative launched in 2016 to promote the Forest Preserves as a world-class destination for birding—and to expose new audiences to this popular activity. Learn more about #BirdThePreserves.

December 2019

River Trail Nature Center Building in Northbrook
Fri, Dec 13 • 7 pm

Night Owls

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sat, Dec 14 • 4:30 pm

Evening Owl Hike

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
#BirdThePreserves logo
Sat, Dec 14 • 7 pm

Owl Prowl

Thatcher Woods • River Forest, IL 60305
Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Sun, Dec 15 • 5:30 am

Dawn Owl Prowl

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Dec 15 • 2 pm

Meet Our Birds of Prey

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Fri, Dec 20 • 7 pm

Evening Owl Hike

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sat, Dec 28 • 1:30 pm

Screech…Screech, Hoot…Hoot: The Owls of Cook County

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Trailside Museum naturalist holding an owl
Mon, Dec 30 • 1 pm

Raptor Rendezvous

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305

January 2020

#BirdThePreserves logo
Wed, Jan 1 • 9 am

Bird Walk

Deer Grove-East • Cook County, IL 60074 (near Palatine)
#BirdThePreserves logo
Fri, Jan 10 • 6:30 pm

Winter Owl Prowl & Folklore

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Jan 12 • 2 pm

Meet Our Birds of Prey

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
#BirdThePreserves logo
Wed, Jan 15 • 9 am

Bird Walk

Eggers Grove • Chicago, IL 60617
A black-capped chickadee at Linne Woods.
Sat, Jan 18 • 9:30 am

Winter Bird Walk

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Jan 26 • 1 pm

Owl Investigations

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
A Forest Preserves staff member holding River Trail Nature Center's ambassador barred owl
Sun, Jan 26 • 1:30 pm

Two Owls & a Naturalist

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062

February 2020

#BirdThePreserves logo
Sat, Feb 1 • 4:30 pm

Superbowl

Killdeer Wetlands • Tinely Park, IL 60477
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Feb 9 • 2 pm

Meet Our Birds of Prey

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
#BirdThePreserves logo
Wed, Feb 19 • 9 am

Bird Walk

Eggers Grove • Chicago, IL 60617
red-bellied woodpecker at a feeder at Trailside Museum
Sat, Feb 22 • 9 am

Bird N’ Bagel

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
+ Export Events