« All Events

Bird The Preserves Events

The #BirdThePreserves initiative launched in 2016 to promote the Forest Preserves as a world-class destination for birding—and to expose new audiences to this popular activity. Learn more about #BirdThePreserves.

March 2021

Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Sat, Mar 20 • 8 am

Early Spring Bird Walk

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Mar 21 • 1 pm

Silent Spring Songs

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
a woodcock on the forest floor
Fri, Mar 26 • 7 pm

Woodcock Walk

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
Sat, Mar 27 • 12 pm

This Old Farmhouse: Preventing Bird Window Collisions

Facebook Live from Sagawau Environmental Learning Center
Tue, Mar 30 • 8 am

Bird Walk

McGinnis Slough • Orland Park, IL 60462

April 2021

#BirdThePreserves logo
Fri, Apr 2 • 8 am

Spring Bird Walk

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
a woodcock on the forest floor
Fri, Apr 2 • 7 pm

Woodcock Sky Dance

Wolf Road Prairie • Cook County, IL 60154 (near Westchester)
a woodcock on the forest floor
Fri, Apr 2 • 7 pm

Woodcock Walk

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
a large expanse of wetlands at Burnham Prairie Nature Preserve
Sat, Apr 3 • 8 am

Bird Walk

Burnham Prairie • Burnham, IL 60633
#BirdThePreserves logo
Fri, Apr 9 • 8 am

Spring Bird Walk

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Apr 11 • 1 pm

Prime Real Estate

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
Tue, Apr 13 • 6 pm

Be a Better Birder: Getting Started

Zoom Presentation
Thu, Apr 15 • 8 am

Bird Walk

Eggers Grove • Chicago, IL 60617
#BirdThePreserves logo
Fri, Apr 16 • 8 am

Spring Bird Walk

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Sat, Apr 17 • 8 am

Morning Bird Walk

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sat, Apr 17 • 1 pm

Fledgling Bird Adventure

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Apr 18 • 9:30 am

Waterfowl Nesting

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
Sagawau Environmental Learning Center in summer.
Tue, Apr 20 • 8:30 am

Bird Hike

Sagawau Environmental Learning Center • Lemont, IL 60439
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sat, Apr 24 • 7 am

Early Morning Bird Walk

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480

May 2021

Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Sun, May 2 • 9 am

Bird Banding

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
River Trail Nature Center Building in Northbrook
Sun, May 2 • 9:30 am

Birding Basics

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
#BirdThePreserves logo
Fri, May 7 • 7:30 am

Spring Bird Walk

Deer Grove-East • Cook County, IL 60074 (near Palatine)
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Fri, May 7 • 7 pm

Bird Watch on Crabtree

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Sat, May 8 • 8 am

Bird Walk

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
#BirdThePreserves logo
Sat, May 8 • 9 am

World Migratory Bird Day Celebration

LaBagh Woods • Chicago, IL 60630
#BirdThePreserves logo
Sat, May 8 • 9:30 am

World Migratory Bird Day

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
#BirdThePreserves logo
Sat, May 8 • 1 pm

World Migratory Bird Day

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
#BirdThePreserves logo
Fri, May 14 • 7:30 am

Spring Bird Walk

Beverly Lake • Cook County, IL 60010 (near Barrington)
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sat, May 15 • 7 am

Early Morning Bird Walk

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
#BirdThePreserves logo
Mon, May 17 • 7:30 am

Spring Bird Walk

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
+ Export Events