« All Events

Special Event Events

October 2019

children roasting marshmallows at Trailside Museum
Special Event Fri, Oct 11 • 5:30 pm

Halloween Hoot n’ Howl

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
people in a canoe on Wampum Lake
Special Event Sat, Oct 12 • 1 pm

Fall Paddle Festival

Tower Road Boat Launch • Cook County, IL 60093 (near Winnetka)
two girls painting a pumpkin
Special Event Sun, Oct 20 • 10 am

Fall Festival

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062

November 2019

Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Special Event Mon, Nov 11 • 8 am

The Transit of Mercury

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
pioneer cabins at Sand Ridge Nature Center
Special Event Sun, Nov 24 • 10 am

47th Annual Settlers’ Day

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473

December 2019

a replica pioneer wagon decorated for Christmas at Sand Ridge Nature Center
Special Event Sun, Dec 8 • 11 am

Christmas Past

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
people playing various instruments at a blugrass jam at Trailside Museum
Special Event Sun, Dec 8 • 1 pm

Makin’ Music Bluegrass Jam

Thatcher Woods Pavilion • River Forest, IL 60305
people around a bonfire at Camp Shabbona Woods
Special Event Sat, Dec 14 • 4 pm

Winter Bonfire

Camp Shabbona Woods • South Holland, IL 60473

January 2020

people playing various instruments at a blugrass jam at Trailside Museum
Special Event Sun, Jan 12 • 1 pm

Makin’ Music Bluegrass Jam

Thatcher Woods Pavilion • River Forest, IL 60305

February 2020

people playing various instruments at a blugrass jam at Trailside Museum
Special Event Sun, Feb 9 • 1 pm

Makin’ Music Bluegrass Jam

Thatcher Woods Pavilion • River Forest, IL 60305

March 2020

Children looking into a sap bucket at River Trail Nature Center's Maple Syrup Festival.
Cancelled Sun, Mar 15 • 11 am

48th Annual Maple Syrup Festival

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062

April 2020

an Earth Day banner at Sand Ridge Nature Center
Cancelled Sat, Apr 18 • 10 am

Earth Day

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473

May 2020

Paddlers on the North Branch of the Chicago River during the annual Ralph Frese Memorial Paddle.
Cancelled Sat, May 2 • 8 am

Ralph Frese Memorial Paddle

Willow Road Dam • Cook County, IL 60093
two children playing on logs at Trailside Museum of Natural History
Cancelled Sun, May 3 • 11 am

Spring Festival

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
A Forest Preserves staff member sharing migratory bird information with visitors.
Cancelled Sat, May 9 • 9 am

World Migratory Bird Day Celebration

LaBagh Woods • Chicago, IL 60630
A group of people on bikes.
Cancelled Sat, May 16 • 11 am

Nature Block Party: Bike, Hike, and Play!

Eggers Grove • Chicago, IL 60617
people using toy fishing poles at the Nature is Accessible event at Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center.
Cancelled Wed, May 27 • 10 am

Nature is Accessible

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
a girl participating in archery
Cancelled Sun, May 31 • 12 pm

Explore the Forest

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
+ Export Events