« All Events

Education Events

February 2021

Sun, Feb 28 • 1:30 pm

Nature in Spanish: Descubrir

Facebook Live from Sand Ridge Nature Center

March 2021

Tue, Mar 9 • 6:30 pm

Nature Book Club: Highlighting Female Authors

Zoom Presentation
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Mar 13 • 1 pm

Ecology for Kids!

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Mar 14 • 1 pm

Vernal Pools

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
Thu, Mar 18 • 10 am

I am a Scientist: Making Sense of Senses

Facebook Live from Little Red Schoolhouse
Wellness in the Woods logo
Sat, Mar 20 • 1:30 pm

Wellness in the Woods: Reflecting on the Work of Female Environmentalists

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Sat, Mar 20 • 2 pm

What is Geoheritage?

Facebook Live from Crabtree Nature Center
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Mar 27 • 10 am

Take a Lichen to Some Moss!

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Sat, Mar 27 • 1:30 pm

Zoology Club: March of the Frogs

Facebook Live from Little Red Schoolhouse
Sun, Mar 28 • 1 pm

Nature in Spanish: Explorar

Facebook Live from Sand Ridge Nature Center

April 2021

Thu, Apr 1 • 2 pm

Born to be Wild

Facebook Live from River Trail Nature Center
Sat, Apr 3 • 10 am

Nature for Little Ones: Digg’n in the Dirt

Facebook Live from Sand Ridge Nature Center
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Wed, Apr 7 • 10 am

Mother Nature & Me: Dinosaurs

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Bridge and trail at Sagawau Environmental Learning Center. Photo by Christine Karge Dewey.
Sat, Apr 10

Day Hiking Leadership Training (In Person & Virtual)

Zoom Presentation
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Apr 10 • 10 am

Going with the Flow: Water Cycle Fun

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Thu, Apr 15 • 10 am

I am a Scientist: Why is the Sky Blue?

Facebook Live from Little Red Schoolhouse
american bullfrogs on a rock at Crabtree Nature Center
Thu, Apr 15 • 10 am

Frog Frenzy

Facebook Live from River Trail Nature Center
Sat, Apr 17 • 10 am

Nature in Spanish: Las Flores

Facebook Live from Sand Ridge Nature Center
Sat, Apr 17 • 11 am

Peak into the Pond

Facebook Live from Little Red Schoolhouse
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Mon, Apr 19 - Thu, Apr 22 • 10 am

Nature’s Pop-up

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Wed, Apr 21 • 12 pm

Plug into Nature: Introduction to iNaturalist (Virtual)

Facebook Live from Sand Ridge Nature Center
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Thu, Apr 22 • 10 am

Nature’s Choice

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
A spring peeper calling
Sat, Apr 24 • 10 am

Ribbit, Croak, or Chirp: Frogs and their Calls

Facebook Live from Crabtree Nature Center
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Apr 25 • 12 pm

Celebrating Earth Day

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Apr 25 • 1:30 pm

Plug into Nature: Introduction to iNaturalist (In Person)

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
female dickcissel eating an insect at Bartel Grassland
Fri, Apr 30 • 4 pm

City Nature Challenge & Nature Journaling

Killdeer Wetlands • Tinley Park, IL 60477

May 2021

The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sun, May 9 • 10 am

The Science of Cuteness

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Bridge and trail at Sagawau Environmental Learning Center. Photo by Christine Karge Dewey.
Sat, May 15

Day Hiking Leadership Training (In Person & Virtual)

Zoom Presentation
Sat, May 15 • 10 am

Butterflies in the Preserves

Zoom Presentation
nature journal page with an illustrated hawk
Sun, May 16 • 12 pm

Remake Learning Day

LaBagh Woods • Chicago, IL 60630
+ Export Events