« All Events

Nature Play Events

August 2019

a character from Where the Wild Things are and a staff member with a red tailed hawk
Fri, Aug 9 • 3 pm

Branch Out and Read Fest

Thatcher Woods Pavilion • River Forest, IL 60305
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Aug 11 • 10 am

Nature Play Date

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
three children building a fort out of logs
Wed, Aug 14 • 12 pm

Nature Discovery Day

Swallow Cliff Woods-North • Cook County, IL 60464 (near Palos Park)
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Thu, Aug 15 • 2 pm

Simple Summer Fun

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
a large bonfire
Sat, Aug 24 • 6:30 pm

Summer Bonfire

Camp Shabbona Woods • South Holland, IL 60473
Wed, Aug 28 • 3 pm

Play Date with the Preserves

Rubio Woods • Cook County, IL 60445 (near Midlothian)

September 2019

Thu, Sep 5 • 10:30 am

Nature Play Date

Dan Ryan Woods Visitor Center • Chicago, IL 60620
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Sep 7 • 10 am

Nature Puppet Show

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
a Trailside Museuem staff member reading a book to children
Wed, Sep 11 • 10 am

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
children building a shelter out of tree branches
Sat, Sep 14 • 12 pm

Fall Nature Fest

LaBagh Woods • Chicago, IL 60630
a large bonfire
Special Event Sat, Sep 28 • 2 pm

Party for the Preserves

Deer Grove-East • Cook County, IL 60074 (near Palatine)

October 2019

Thu, Oct 3 • 10:30 am

Nature Play Date

Dan Ryan Woods Visitor Center • Chicago, IL 60620
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Oct 5 • 10 am

Nature Puppet Show

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
a family riding a quad bike at Eggers Grove
Sat, Oct 5 • 11 am

Awe of Nature

Midlothian Meadows • Cook County, IL 60428
people in a canoe on Wampum Lake
Special Event Sat, Oct 12 • 1 pm

Fall Paddle Festival

Tower Road Boat Launch • Cook County, IL 60093 (near Winnetka)
a marshmallow roasting over a campfire
Fri, Oct 18 • 5 pm

Stars, Stories and S’mores

Erickson Woods • Cook County, IL 60093 (near Winnetka)
a Trailside Museuem staff member reading a book to children
Wed, Oct 23 • 10 am

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305

November 2019

exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Nov 2 • 10 am

Nature Puppet Show

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
a Trailside Museuem staff member reading a book to children
Wed, Nov 13 • 10 am

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
a marshmallow roasting over a campfire
Fri, Nov 15 • 5 pm

Stars, Stories and S’mores

Caldwell Woods • Chicago, IL 60646
pioneer cabins at Sand Ridge Nature Center
Special Event Sun, Nov 24 • 10 am

47th Annual Settlers’ Day

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473

December 2019

The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Wed, Dec 4 • 10:30 am

Mother Nature and Me

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Thu, Dec 5 • 10:30 am

Nature Play Date

Dan Ryan Woods Visitor Center • Chicago, IL 60620
children playing indoors at Trailside Museum
Wed, Dec 11 • 10 am

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305

January 2020

children playing indoors at Trailside Museum
Wed, Jan 8 • 10 am

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Wed, Jan 8 • 10:30 am

Mother Nature and Me

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480

February 2020

children playing indoors at Trailside Museum
Wed, Feb 5 • 10 am

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Wed, Feb 5 • 10:30 am

Mother Nature and Me

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Thu, Feb 6 • 10:30 am

Nature Play Date

Dan Ryan Woods Visitor Center • Chicago, IL 60620
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Feb 16 • 10 am

Nature Play Date: Lincoln Logs

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
+ Export Events