Crabtree Nature Center

Crabtree Nature Center

Over a thousand acres of rolling, glacier formed landscape in northwest Cook County has been set aside as Crabtree Nature Center.

 

Before 1830, this land was clothed in forest, prairie and marsh, but settlers brought rapid change to the landscape. Farming and homesteading practices led to prairies being plowed, marshes drained or dredged, and timber cut for building material. Since its purchase in the mid-1960′s by the Forest Preserve District, Crabtree has been slowly returning to its natural state through restoration by Forest Preserve staff and volunteer efforts.

 

1,182 acres of woodland, wetland and prairie provides a rest stop along the migratory bird highway. 260 species have been recorded using these habitats, with at least 89 species breeding onsite. Bird watchers can stroll through the trails to view birds along the way or stop at the blind to view the hosts of waterfowl in spring and fall.

 

In spring wildflowers carpet the woodlands. The summer brings blossoms in the meadows and prairies. Fall brings autumnal tones to the forest canopy and the native grasses. Winter brings solitude, broken by the calls of various birds visiting the grounds.

 

An exhibit building opens to several miles of self-guiding trails, inviting visitors to explore natural habitats that are home to wildlife and native plants.

 

Picnic facilities are available at Deer Grove Forest Preserve, 2 1/2 miles east on Dundee Road (Route 68); Carl Hansen Woods on Route 59; and Barrington Road Pond on Barrington Road.

 

Leave No Child Inside at Crabtree Nature Center

 

Crabtree on Facebook »

3 Stover Road
Barrington Hills, IL 60010
847-381-6592
 

Hours: March – October
Building 9 am – 5 pm, closed Fridays
Grounds 8 am – 5 pm
Hours: November – February
Building 9 am – 4 pm, closed Fridays
Grounds 8 am – 4 pm

Closed:
Thanksgiving, Christmas Day & New Year’s Day

Events List Navigation

May 2017
Fri, May 26 • 7:30 pm
Free

Amphibian Adventure

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Sun, May 28 • 1 PM
Free

Pollinator Super Powers

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Mon, May 29 • 1 PM
Free

Spring Ramble

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
June 2017
Don't MissSun, Jun 4 • 12 PM
Free

Explore the Forest: 100 Years and Growing!

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Thu, Jun 8 - Fri, Jun 9 • 9:30 am
$20

Gone Fishin’ Day Camp

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Sat, Jun 10 • 1 PM
Free

Pond Dippin’

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
SeriesSun, Jun 11 • 1 PM
Free

Oil Painting Demonstration

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Tue, Jun 13 - Thu, Jun 15 • 9:30 am
$30

Garden Fun Day Camp

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Let's Move! OutsideSun, Jun 18 • 1 PM
Free

Who’s Your Daddy?

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Wed, Jun 21 - Fri, Jun 23 • 9:30 am
$30

Crabtree Survivor Day Camp

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Fri, Jun 23 • 6:30 pm
Free

Twilight Canoe Trip

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Sun, Jun 25 • 1 PM
Free

Bring on the Butterflies

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Tue, Jun 27 - Thu, Jun 29 • 9:30 am
$30

Animals Adventure Day Camp

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Fri, Jun 30 • 8 PM
Free

Light up the Night with Fireflies

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
July 2017
Sun, Jul 2 • 1 PM
Free

Red, White & Blue

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Fri, Jul 7 • 8 PM
Free

Nocturnal Narratives

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Sun, Jul 9 • 1 PM
Free

Frog Finders

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Wed, Jul 12 - Thu, Jul 13 • 9:30 am
$20

Gone Fishin’ Day Camp

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Sat, Jul 15 • 1 PM
Free

Catching Dragons

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
SeriesSun, Jul 16 • 1 PM
Free

Poetry Workshop – Nature Symbolism in Poetry

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Sun, Jul 23 • 1 PM
Free

Wetland Wonders Walk

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Fri, Jul 28 • 8 PM
Free

Bats

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Sun, Jul 30 • 1 PM
Free

Habitat Hike

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
August 2017
Sun, Aug 6 • 1 PM
Free

Bugapalooza

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Fri, Aug 11 • 7:30 pm
Free

Bats

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Sat, Aug 12 • 1 PM
Free

Summer Ramble

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Bird The PreservesSun, Aug 13 • 1 PM
Free

Mixed Media Birds

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Fri, Aug 18 • 7:30 pm
Free

Bats

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Sun, Aug 20 • 1 PM
Free

Cicadas

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Mon, Aug 21 • 11:45 am
Free

Solar Eclipse

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
Let's Move! OutsideSun, Aug 27 • 1 PM
Free

Dog Days of Summer Stroll

Crabtree Nature Center, Barrington Hills
+ Export Listed Events
Visit two of the treasures of the Forest Preserves of Cook County