Trailside Museum of Natural History

Trailside Museum Entrance

Established in 1931, the Hal Tyrrell Trailside Museum of Natural History served as the first public nature education facility of the Forest Preserves of Cook County.

 

Visitors to the Museum, housed in a historic mid-1870′s Victorian mansion, will discover displays of live native animals, colorful wildflower gardens, information about local wildlife and their habitats, and more.

 

Natural-surfaced hiking trails through the surrounding Forest Preserve wind through beautiful oak woodlands and floodplain forest, and to a pond and along the Des Plaines River.

 

Trailside Museum is child-friendly, and offers a wide variety of public nature programs and guided hikes every month, for children, families and adults. School groups and organizations are welcome to make reservations to visit, and will receive a customized tour with a naturalist.

 

Trailside Museum is located at the western edge of suburban River Forest, and is easily reached by foot, bicycle, car, or public transportation.

History of Trailside » Trailside on Facebook »

738 Thatcher Ave
River Forest, IL 60305
708-366-6530

Hours: March – October
Building 9 am – 5 pm, closed Fridays
Grounds 8 am – 5 pm
Hours: November – February
Building 9 am – 4 pm, closed Fridays
Grounds 8 am – 4 pm

Closed:
Thanksgiving, Christmas Day & New Year’s Day

November 2018

Fri, Nov 23 • 1 PM
Free

Turkey Trot Hike

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesSat, Nov 24 • 1 PM
Free

Bone Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Nov 25 • 1 PM
Free

Autumn Walks

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Wed, Nov 28 • 10 AM
Free

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest

December 2018

Sat, Dec 1 • 1 PM
Free

Historic Archaeology Workshop

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Dec 2 • 1 PM
Free

The Natural History of Thatcher Woods

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Dec 6 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Dec 8 • 1 PM
Free

Feed the Birds

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Wed, Dec 12 • 10 AM
Free

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Dec 15 • 1 PM
Free

Bone Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Dec 16 • 5:30 am
Free

Dawn Owl Prowl

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Dec 20 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Dec 22 • 1 PM
Free

Winter Solstice Guided Nature Hike

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Bird The PreservesThu, Dec 27 - Fri, Dec 28 • 9 AM
$20

Kids and Birds Mini Camp

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Fri, Dec 28 • 6:30 pm
$2

Winter Bonfire & Stories

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Dec 29 • 1 PM
Free

Bone Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest

January 2019

Thu, Jan 3 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Jan 6 • 1 PM
Free

Bone Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Wed, Jan 9 • 10 AM
Free

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Jan 12 • 1 PM
Free

Conservation@Home: Winter Pruning

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jan 17 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest

February 2019

Thu, Feb 7 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Wed, Feb 13 • 10 AM
Free

Nature Tots

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Feb 17 • 9 AM
$59

Winter Photography

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Feb 21 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Feb 23 • 1 PM
Free

Bone Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
+ Export Events
Visit two of the treasures of the Forest Preserves of Cook County