Trailside Museum of Natural History

Trailside Museum Entrance

Established in 1931, the Hal Tyrrell Trailside Museum of Natural History served as the first public nature education facility of the Forest Preserves of Cook County.

 

Visitors to the Museum, housed in a historic mid-1870′s Victorian mansion, will discover displays of live native animals, colorful wildflower gardens, information about local wildlife and their habitats, and more.

 

Natural-surfaced hiking trails through the surrounding Forest Preserve wind through beautiful oak woodlands and floodplain forest, and to a pond and along the Des Plaines River.

 

Trailside Museum is child-friendly, and offers a wide variety of public nature programs and guided hikes every month, for children, families and adults. School groups and organizations are welcome to make reservations to visit, and will receive a customized tour with a naturalist.

 

Trailside Museum is located at the western edge of suburban River Forest, and is easily reached by foot, bicycle, car, or public transportation.

History of Trailside » Trailside on Facebook »

738 Thatcher Ave
River Forest, IL 60305

708-366-6530

Hours: March – May
Building 9 am – 4:45 pm, closed Friday
Grounds 8 am – 5 pm
Hours: June – August
Building Mon-Thu: 9 am – 6 pm
Fri: Closed
Sat-Sun: 9 am – 5 pm
Grounds Mon-Fri: 8 am – 6 pm
Sat-Sun: 8 am – 5 pm
Hours: September – October
Building 9 am – 4:45 pm, closed Friday
Grounds 8 am – 5 pm
Hours: November – February
Building 9 am – 3:45 pm, closed Friday
Grounds 8 am – 4 pm

Closed:
Thanksgiving, Christmas Day & New Year’s Day

Events List Navigation

May 2015
Sat, May 30 • 1 PM
Free

Nature Hike

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
June 2015
SeriesThu, Jun 4 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jun 4 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Jun 6 • 1 PM
Free

What Does the Coyote Say?

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Jun 7 • 1 PM
Free

Summer Stroll

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jun 11 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Jun 13 • 10 AM
Free

Neighborhood Tree Walk

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesSun, Jun 14 • 1 PM
Free

“Bone” Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Jun 14 • 2 PM
Free

What’s the Buzz?

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesThu, Jun 18 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jun 18 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Jun 20 • 10 AM
Free

Dog Days of Summer Hike

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Jun 21 • 1 PM
Free

Father’s Day Walk

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jun 25 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Jun 27 • 10 AM
Free

Explore Your Preserves: Evans Field Forest Preserve

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesSun, Jun 28 • 1 PM
Free

“Bone” Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Jun 28 • 2 PM
Free

What’s the Buzz?

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
July 2015
SeriesThu, Jul 2 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jul 2 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesSat, Jul 4 • 1 PM
Free

“Bone” Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Jul 5 • 1 PM
Free

Bugland

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jul 9 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Jul 11 • 1 PM
Free

Parent/Child Woodland Ramble

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Jul 12 • 10 AM
Free

Walk with Dragons and Damsels

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Don't MissTue, Jul 14 - Wed, Jul 15 • 9 AM
$10

Fish Camp

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesThu, Jul 16 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jul 16 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Jul 18 • 10 AM
Free

Dog Days of Summer Hike

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Jul 19 • 1 PM
Free

Summer Stroll

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jul 23 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesSat, Jul 25 • 1 PM
Free

“Bone” Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Jul 26 • 1 PM
Free

Creature Feature

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Jul 30 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
August 2015
Sat, Aug 1 • 10 AM
Free

Neighborhood Tree Walk

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Aug 2 • 1 PM
Free

Summer Stroll

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesThu, Aug 6 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Aug 6 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Aug 8 • 1 PM
Free

Container Gardening

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Aug 9 • 1 PM
Free

Reptiles Revealed

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Aug 13 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Aug 15 • 10 AM
Free

Dog Days of Summer Hike

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesSun, Aug 16 • 1 PM
Free

“Bone” Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Aug 16 • 2 PM
Free

What’s the Buzz?

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Aug 16 • 2 PM
Free

What’s the Buzz?

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Wed, Aug 19 • 7:30 pm
Free

Bats: Night Stalkers

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesThu, Aug 20 • 10:30 am
Free

Nature Story Time

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Aug 20 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesSun, Aug 23 • 1 PM
Free

“Bone” Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Aug 23 • 2 PM
Free

What’s the Buzz?

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Thu, Aug 27 • 4 PM
Free

Nature in the Afternoon Drop-Ins

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
SeriesSat, Aug 29 • 1 PM
Free

“Bone” Appétit

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sat, Aug 29 • 2 PM
Free

What’s the Buzz?

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
Sun, Aug 30 • 1 PM
Free

Plants and Their Pals

Trailside Museum of Natural History, River Forest
+ Export Listed Events
Visit two of the treasures of the Forest Preserves of Cook County