River Trail Nature Center

River Trail Nature Center Entrance

Since 1958, River Trail Nature Center has told the story of the plants, animals and natural landscapes formed by the Des Plaines River. Floodplain forest, backwater wetlands, oak-hickory woodland, and an ancient remnant of sugar maple-basswood forest make River Trail a mix of habitats for an amazing variety of birds, insects, plants and wildlife.

 

Visitors can experience this abundance of nature through 1.5 miles of walking trails that wind their way through the preserve.

 

Indoor and outdoor exhibits invite visitors to learn about local natural history. Younger children will enjoy River Trail’s nature discovery area, where kids can climb in an eagle nest, crawl in a fox den and create their own puppet shows.

 

River Trail Nature Center offers a number of special events and programs throughout the year.

River Trail on Facebook »

3120 Milwaukee Ave
Northbrook, IL 60062
847-824-8360
 

Hours: March – October
Building 9 am – 5 pm, closed Fridays
Grounds 8 am – 5 pm
Hours: November – February
Building 9 am – 4 pm, closed Fridays
Grounds 8 am – 4 pm

Closed:
Thanksgiving, Christmas Day & New Year’s Day

May 2019

SeriesSat, May 25 • 3 PM
Free

What’s On The Menu?

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Sun, May 26 • 1:30 pm
Free

Creature Feature

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
SeriesSun, May 26 • 3 PM
Free

What’s On The Menu?

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Mon, May 27 • 1:30 pm
Free

Creature Feature

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
SeriesWed, May 29 • 10 AM
Free

Small Serendipity

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook

June 2019

Sat, Jun 8 • 7 PM
Free

Date Night Hike

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Fri, Jun 14 • 7:30 pm
$3

Twilight Hike

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Mon, Jun 17 - Fri, Jun 21 • 9 AM
$250

Travelling Adventurers

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Sun, Jun 23 • 1:30 pm
Free

Life Under a Log

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Mon, Jun 24 - Fri, Jun 28 • 9:30 am
$75

Jr Keepers

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Wed, Jun 26 • 7 PM
Free

Singing Insect Monitor Training

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Sun, Jun 30 • 1:30 pm
Free

River Round-Up

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook

July 2019

Sun, Jul 7 • 7:30 pm
$3

Fireside Tales

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Mon, Jul 8 - Fri, Jul 12 • 9:30 am
$75

Discovery Days Camp

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Mon, Jul 15 - Fri, Jul 19 • 9:30 am
$75

Nature Explorers Camp: Morning Session

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Mon, Jul 15 - Fri, Jul 19 • 1:30 pm
$75

Nature Explorers Camp: Afternoon Session

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Mon, Jul 22 - Fri, Jul 26 • 9:30 am
$75

Discovery Days Camp

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Sat, Jul 27 • 7 PM
$3

Sunset Nature Photography

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Sun, Jul 28 • 1:30 pm
Free

Bug-a-Palooza

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Mon, Jul 29 - Fri, Aug 2 • 9:30 am
$75

Jr Keepers

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Wed, Jul 31 • 8 PM
$3

Evening Program on Bats

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook

August 2019

Sat, Aug 10 • 9:30 am
Free

Junior Nature Photography

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Sun, Aug 25 • 11 AM
Free

Family Fish School

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
Sat, Aug 31 • 7 PM
Free

Date Night Hike

River Trail Nature Center, Northbrook
+ Export Events
Visit two of the treasures of the Forest Preserves of Cook County