Loading Events

Event Venue: Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center

Connect with the historic past of the Palos Hills at The Little Red Schoolhouse. In 1886 the present schoolhouse building, originally located on the Black Oak Trail at old 99th Street, replaced a log cabin school. Now hikers enjoy country lanes once used by its student. In 2010 a new visitor center with additional live animals and exhibits, children’s activity room and more joined the old school. Learn more about Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center >

Location

9800 Willow Springs Rd, Willow Springs, IL 60480 United States
View Larger Map

June 2019

Tue, Jun 18 - Thu, Jun 20 • 10 AM
$25

Spittlebug Nature Camp

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Jun 22 • 10:30 am
Free

Summer Fungi

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sun, Jun 23 • 1:30 pm
Free

Pollinator Party

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Jun 29 • 8:30 pm
Free

Serenade of the Frogs

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs

July 2019

Wed, Jul 3 • 10:30 am
Free

Afternoons with Mother Nature: Snakes

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Jul 6 • 1:30 pm
Free

Turtles on the Move

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sun, Jul 7 • 10 AM
Free

Yoga in the Woods

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Tue, Jul 9 - Thu, Jul 11 • 9:30 am
$25

Young Naturalists Field Camp

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
SeriesThu, Jul 11 • 10 AM
Free

S.E.N.I.O.R.S.

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Fri, Jul 12 • 7:30 pm
Free

Marvelous Bats

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Jul 13 • 10 AM
Free

R.I.P. Stewardship Workday

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Jul 13 • 8 PM
Free

How to Set Up Your Telescope

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sun, Jul 14 • 1:30 pm
Free

Nature’s Choice

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Wed, Jul 17 - Fri, Jul 19 • 9:30 am
$25

“Naturalist for a Day” Field Camp

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Thu, Jul 18 • 1 PM
Free

The Fantastic Forest

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Jul 20 • 1:30 pm
Free

Our Country School

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Tue, Jul 23 - Thu, Jul 25 • 9:30 am
$25

Young Naturalists Field Camp

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs

August 2019

SeriesThu, Aug 1 • 10 AM
Free

S.E.N.I.O.R.S.

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Aug 3 • 10:30 am
Free

Pond Dip

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sun, Aug 4 • 10 AM
Free

Yoga in the Woods

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Wed, Aug 7 • 10:30 am
Free

Afternoons with Mother Nature: Cicadas

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Aug 10 • 10 AM
Free

R.I.P. Stewardship Workday

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sun, Aug 11 • 1:30 pm
Free

Nature’s Choice

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Thu, Aug 15 • 1 PM
Free

The Fantastic Forest

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Fri, Aug 16 • 7 PM
Free

Paddling under the Planets

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Aug 24 • 7:30 pm
Free

Ancient Mayan Astronomy

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
Sat, Aug 31 • 1:30 pm
Free

Ophidiophobia

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center, Willow Springs
+ Export Events
Visit two of the treasures of the Forest Preserves of Cook County