All Events

Education Events

The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Fri, Aug 19 • 10 am

Fridays in the Field

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
River Trail Nature Center Building in Northbrook
Fri, Aug 19 • 10 am

Fridays in the Field

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sun, Aug 21 • 1:30 pm

Seasonal Pop Up

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Fri, Aug 26 • 10 am

Fridays in the Field

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
River Trail Nature Center Building in Northbrook
Fri, Aug 26 • 10 am

Fridays in the Field

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
a beaver swimming in water
Cancelled Sat, Aug 27 • 10:30 am

All About Beavers

Evans Field • River Grove, IL 60171
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sun, Aug 28 • 1:30 pm

Focus on Habitats

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Wed, Aug 31 • 4:30 pm

Orienteering 101

Miller Meadow-South • Cook County, IL 60130 (near Forest Park)
monarch butterfly feeding on a sunflower
Sat, Sep 3 • 10 am

Monarch Migration!

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Sat, Sep 3 • 1:30 pm

International Vulture Awareness Day

Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Sep 4 • 1 pm

Nature Table

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Wed, Sep 7 • 10 am

I am a Scientist

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Sagawau Environmental Learning Center in summer.
Thu, Sep 8 • 7 pm

Singing Insects

Sagawau Environmental Learning Center • Lemont, IL 60439
archaeologist measuring an arrowhead
Sat, Sep 10 • 10 am

Archaeology Day

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Sagawau Environmental Learning Center in summer.
Sat, Sep 10 • 1 pm

Sweeping the Prairie

Sagawau Environmental Learning Center • Lemont, IL 60439
Sagawau Environmental Learning Center in summer.
Sun, Sep 11 • 1 pm

Conservation@Home: Name that Shrub

Sagawau Environmental Learning Center • Lemont, IL 60439
Sagawau Environmental Learning Center in summer.
Sat, Sep 17 • 1 pm

Orienteering Part I: Beginner Compass Skills

Sagawau Environmental Learning Center • Lemont, IL 60439
Sun, Sep 18 • 10 am

DIY: Make a Field Guide

Theodore Stone Forest • Hodgkins, IL 60525
River Trail Nature Center Building in Northbrook
Sun, Sep 18 • 11 am

Herbal Tea Party

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sun, Sep 18 • 1:30 pm

Discovering Spiders

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Wed, Sep 21 • 10:30 am

Mother Nature and Me

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Thu, Sep 22 • 10 am

Backyard Edibles

Deer Grove-East • Cook County, IL 60074 (near Palatine)
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Thu, Sep 22 • 6 pm

Autumnal Equinox

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
River Trail Nature Center Building in Northbrook
Fri, Sep 23 • 7 pm

Night Hike

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Sep 25 • 1 pm

Bees, Wasps & Hornets

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Sun, Sep 25 • 1:30 pm

Seasonal Pop Up

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
red bat in a tree
Sat, Oct 1 • 1:30 pm

Batty about Bats

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
Sagawau Environmental Learning Center in summer.
Sun, Oct 2 • 1 pm

Oak Ecology Hike

Sagawau Environmental Learning Center • Lemont, IL 60439
The visitors center at the Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center
Wed, Oct 5 • 10 am

I am a Scientist

Little Red Schoolhouse Nature Center • Willow Springs, IL 60480
Sagawau Environmental Learning Center in summer.
Sat, Oct 8 • 10 am

Orienteering Part II: Set the Course