« All Events

Hiking & Walking Events

January 2021

Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Thu, Jan 21 - Mon, Jan 25 • 9 am

Story-Trail for Kids: Over and Under the Snow

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Jan 23 • 9 am

Winter Story Trail

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Jan 24 • 9 am

Winter Story Trail

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Jan 30 • 9 am

Winter Story Trail

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Jan 31 • 9 am

Winter Story Trail

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473

February 2021

Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Mon, Feb 1 - Sat, Feb 6

Winter Tree Identification Trail

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Mon, Feb 1 - Mon, Feb 8 • 9 am

Children’s Story Trail and Craft: Groundhog Day

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Feb 6 - Sun, Feb 7 • 9 am

Winter Story Trail

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Sat, Feb 6 • 10 am

Virtual Walk: Des Plaines River

Facebook Live from River Trail Nature Center
a hiker at Thatcher Woods with snow and fall colors
Sat, Feb 6 • 11 am

Explore: Thatcher Woods

Thatcher Woods • River Forest, IL 60305
Crabtree Nature Center building in Barrington Hills
Sun, Feb 7 • 9:30 am

Winter Survival: Resting Reptiles (Self-Guided)

Crabtree Nature Center • Barrington Hills, IL 60010
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Feb 13 - Sun, Feb 14 • 9 am

Winter Story Trail

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
River Trail Nature Center Building in Northbrook
Sat, Feb 13 • 5 pm

Sweetheart Night Hike

River Trail Nature Center • Northbrook, IL 60062
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Feb 13 • 6 pm

Sand Ridge by Candlelight

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sun, Feb 14 • 1:30 pm

Animals in Love

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Trailside Museum building in River Forest
Mon, Feb 15 - Sun, Feb 21 • 9 am

Children’s Story Trail: Ruby’s Birds

Trailside Museum of Natural History • River Forest, IL 60305
overhead photo of men working on digging out the Skokie Lagoons in July 1933
Wed, Feb 17 • 5:30 pm

History of the Forest Preserves: Skokie Lagoons

Zoom Presentation
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Feb 20 - Sun, Feb 21 • 9 am

Winter Story Trail

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Sat, Feb 20 • 10 am

Self-guided Walk and Talk

Oak Forest Heritage Preserve-East • Oak Forest, IL 60452
Sat, Feb 20 • 10 am

Self-guided Walk and Talk

Yankee Woods • Cook County, IL 60477 (near Tinley Park)
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Feb 27 - Sun, Feb 28 • 9 am

Winter Story Trail

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
exterior of the Sand Ridge Nature Center building
Sat, Feb 27 • 9 am

Black History Month: Underground Railroad Walks

Sand Ridge Nature Center • South Holland, IL 60473
Sat, Feb 27 • 11 am

Explore: Westchester Woods

Westchester Woods • Cook County, IL 60526 (near La Grange Park)
+ Export Events